Introduction – MQM


Muttahida Quami Movement generally known as MQM, is a liberal political party of Pakistan. It is generally known as a party which holds strong mobilizing potential in Karachi. The student organization, All Pakistan Muhajir Student Organization (APMSO), was founded in 1978 by Altaf Hussain which subsequently gave birth to the Muhajir Quami Movement in 1984.
In 1997, the MQM officially removed the term Muhajir (which denotes the party’s roots among Urdu-speaking Muslims) from its name, and replaced it with Muttahida (“United”).
Mutahida Quami Movement (MQM) is the second largest party in Sindh and the traditionally the third largest in the country, however it currently holds fourth highest number of seats in the National Assembly while maintaining its second position in the Sindh Assembly.
Leader: Altaf Hussain
Spokesperson: Haider Abbas Rizvi
Founder: Altaf Hussain
Deputy Convener: Anees Qaim Khani
Parliamentary leader to the National Assembly: Farooq Sattar
Parliamentary leader to the Senate Secretariat: Babar Khan Ghauri
Deputy Parlimentary Leader to the National Assembly: Haider Abbas Rizvi
Slogan: Empowerment For all
Founded: March 18, 1984
Headquarters: Nine Zero, 494/8 Azizabad, Federal B. Area
Karachi, Pakistan
Youth wing: All Pakistan Muttahidda Students Organization (APMSO)
Charity wing: Khidmat-e-Khalq Foundation (KKF)
Parliamentary wings: Haq Parast (former)
Ideology: Liberalism, Social liberalism, Progressivism
Political position: Centre-left

Image | This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s