Introduction – PPP

flag PPP

The Pakistan People’s Party (Urdu: پاکستان پیپلز پارٹی‎; commonly referred to as PPP) is a centre-left, progressive, and democratic socialist political party in Pakistan. Affiliated with the Socialist International, its political philosophy and position, by country’s political spectrum, is considered centre-left with the strong public promotion of the components of social liberalism on economic standard, and the social democratic principles.
It has been a major and influential party in the country. Since its founding, the party’s leadership has been dominated by the members of the Bhutto-Zardari family. Although its centre of gravity lies in the southern province of Sindh, the party also enjoys considerable support in Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan.
Since its formation in 1967, the PPP has been voted into power on five separate occasions (1970, 1977, 1988, 1993, 2008)


Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (1967–79)


Nusrat Bhutto (1979–84)

Benazir Bhutto (1984–2007)

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari (2007–present)

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari
President Asif Ali Zardari

Chairman: Bilawal Bhutto Zardari
Asif Ali Zardari (Co-Chairman and Chairman of the CEC)
Secretary-General: Jahangir Badar
Founded: 30 November 1967; 45 years ago
Headquarters: People’s Secretariat, Parliament Lodges at Islamabad
Student wing: Peoples Students Federation (PSF)
Ideology: Social democracy, Democratic socialism, Social liberalism,
Egalitarianism, Progressivism

Image | This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s